(Probably typical) Beginner's problems

Captn. Jinguji

Development-wise, I'm a total noob with T3D, but moderately experienced with other programmming languages and even some 3D game engines.

I'm not implying that those issues listed below "don't work" in the engine, rather, I'm assuming that they are most likely to be attributed to my lack of knowledge of T3D.

While in the past, I have occasionally attempted to start with T3D, but never got very far since life got in the way, I can now dedicate much more time to get to grips with it. I must say I'm pleased with all the options T3D has to offer, and even useful information / documentation can be found on (most) non-self-evident options. BTW: I own the three books by Ken Finney (yes they seriously overlap each other, I know ) and have more or less read diagonally through all of them over time.

In the long run, I have three different projects in mind, basically scifi/fantasy-themed, with differing orientations towards action vs. rpg between them.

But currently I'm running into a few quirks I can't find solutions to:

1) Probably an easy one: Where can I change the footstep sound in the desert template level ? Currently, it is a hard "clonk-clonk" as if the player were walking with metal boots on stone ground ? While I'm able to change the footstepsound for - say - Materials assigned to buildings, I can't seem to find an option for terrains.

2) The footstep sound on Materials can obviously be set with "Advanced options" in the material editor , only, more often than not, T3D seems to forget this setting ( and the impact sound setting also) from one moment to the other, or doesn't save them at all (yes, I confirmed the selected sound by pressing the Enter key and explicitly clicked the disk-symbol on the materials window).